Search Districts Within

Pudukkottai District : Tamil Nadu

About District

Pudukkottai District was carved out of Tiruchirappalli and Thanjavur districts in January 1974. The district lies between 78.25' and 79.15' of the Eastern Longitude and between 9.50' and 10.40' of the Northern Latitude. It is bounded by Tiruchirappalli district in the North and West, Sivaganga district in the South, Bay of Bengal in the East and Thanjavur district in the North East. At present, this district is composed of three Revenue Divisions, namely, Pudukkottai, Aranthangi and Illuppur and twelve Taluks, namely, Kulathur, Illuppur, Alangudi, Pudukkottai, Gandarvakottai, Thirumayam, Aranthangi, Avudaiyrakoil and Manamelkudi, Karambakudi, Viralimalai and Ponnamaravathi. There are 763 Revenue Villages. District Collector is the administrator of the district. He controls the Revenue and Rural Development units of the district administration through his Personal Assistants and Panchayat Development officers. The Chithannavasal, Kudumbalur, Thirumayam, Kudumiyanmalai, Viralimalai, Avur, Thirukokarnam, Pallivasal and Avudaiyarkoil are some of the important places in the district to visit.

District at a Glance

  • District
  • Headquarters
  • State
Area in Sq Km (Census 2011)
  • Total
  • Rural
  • Urban
Population (Census 2011)
  • Population
  • Rural
  • Urban
  • Male
  • Female
  • Sex Ratio (Females per 1000 males)
  • Density (Total, Persons per sq km)
Constituencies (ECI)
  • Assembly
  • Loksabha

Brought to you by National Informatics Centre | Page Last updated : July 04 2017