Search Districts Within

Kanyakumari District : Tamil Nadu

About District

Kanyakumari is the southern most district of Tamil Nadu. The district lies between 77o 15' and 77o 36' of the eastern longitudes and 8o 03' and 8o 35' of the northern Latitudes. The District is bound by Tirunelveli District on the North and the east. The South Eastern boundary is the Gulf of Mannar. On the South and the South West, the boundaries are the Indian Ocean and the Arabian Sea. On the West and North West it is bound by Kerala. With an area of 1672 it occupies 1.29% of the total extent of Tamil Nadu. The district has been divided into 2 revenue divisions comprising of 4 taluks with 188 revenue villages. For development reasons, it is divided into 9 development blocks with 95 Village Panchayats. The Suchindrum Temple, Kanyakumari Bagavathiamman Temple, Udayagiri Fort, Mathoor Hanging Bridge, St. Xavier Church, Padmanabhapuram Palace, Pechiparai Dam, Peer Mohammed Durha , Tirparappu Water Falls, Maruthuva Malai, Muttom Beach and Vattakottai (Circular Fort) are some of the important places in the District to visit.

District at a Glance

  • District
  • Headquarters
  • State
Area in Sq Km (Census 2011)
  • Total
  • Rural
  • Urban
Population (Census 2011)
  • Population
  • Rural
  • Urban
  • Male
  • Female
  • Sex Ratio (Females per 1000 males)
  • Density (Total, Persons per sq km)
Constituencies (ECI)
  • Assembly
  • Loksabha

Brought to you by National Informatics Centre | Page Last updated : July 04 2017