Search Districts Within

Kiphire District : Nagaland

About District

Kiphire district is the newly formed District of Nagaland and it was carved out of Tuensang District. The district is bounded by Tuensang District in the north, Phek District in the south, Zunheboto in the west and Myanmar in the east.It is headquartered at Kiphire, which is at an altitude of 896.42m (2,940 ft) above sea level. Kiphire is about 254 from Kohima, the capital of Nagaland. The total area of the District is 1255 The main towns of this district are Seyochung, Sitimi, Pungro and Kiphire. Saramati (3,841m or 12,602ft.), highest peak in Nagaland is located in this district. As per Census 2011, the total population of the district is 74004 out of which 36,174 are Females and 37,830 are males. Kiphire is multi-ethnic in terms of its indigenous population. There are officially three recognized tribes - Sangtam,Yimchungrü, and Sümi. The places of tourist interests in the district are Saramati peak, Langzanger Village Baptist Church, Limestone caves at Salomi & Mimi, Wildlife sanctuary at Fakim and Pristine forest of Jingkhu mountains.

District Administration

District at a Glance

  • District
  • Headquarters
  • State
Area in Sq Km (Census 2011)
  • Total
  • Rural
  • Urban
Population (Census 2011)
  • Population
  • Rural
  • Urban
  • Male
  • Female
  • Sex Ratio (Females per 1000 males)
  • Density (Total, Persons per sq km)
Constituencies (ECI)
  • Assembly
  • Loksabha

Brought to you by National Informatics Centre | Page Last updated : July 04 2017