Search Districts Within

Peren District : Nagaland

About District

Peren is the eleventh and the newest district of Nagaland, formed as a result of bifurcation of Kohima District. The total geographical area of the district is 2300sq k.m. The Peren District is bounded by two States and two Districts. On the East and South it shares Nagaland’s Inter-State boundary with Manipur; on the west also it shares Nagaland’s Inter-State boundary with Assam; and on the North and North-East it is bounded by two Districts of Nagaland - Dimapurand Kohima, respectively. Peren district is headquartered at Peren. Peren, Jalukie and Tening are the major towns in the district. Most of the inhabitants belongs to the Zeliange and Kuki tribes. The Places of tourist interests in the district includes historical places like Mt. Kisa at Nzauna village and the caves at Puilwa village, Mt. Paona - the highest mountain peak in the District at Benreu village and Ntanki National Park - the home to Holloc Gibbon, a rare and an endangered species of monkey and with all its other charms.

District at a Glance

  • District
  • Headquarters
  • State
Area in Sq Km (Census 2011)
  • Total
  • Rural
  • Urban
Population (Census 2011)
  • Population
  • Rural
  • Urban
  • Male
  • Female
  • Sex Ratio (Females per 1000 males)
  • Density (Total, Persons per sq km)
Constituencies (ECI)
  • Assembly
  • Loksabha

Brought to you by National Informatics Centre | Page Last updated : July 04 2017