Search Districts Within

Latehar District : Jharkhand

About District

Latehar district is located on the north–west corner of Jharkhand in the Palamau Commissionary. Latehar district has been created on 4th April 2001. Previously, it was a subdivision of old Palamau district of Jharkhand State. The district is surrounded by Ranchi, Lohardaga, Gumla, Palamau and Chatra district apart from Chhattisgarh state. Latehar district is situated between 84deg. 31 min. East latitude 23 deg. 44.4 sec north latitude. The geogrophical area of the district is 3651.59 sq. km. Latehar town is the district headquater of Latehar district. There are 9 (Nine) Development Blocks, namely Latehar, Chandwa, Balumath, Bariyatu, Herhanj, Manika, Barwadih, Garu and Mahuadar. It’s a predominantly tribal district with almost 45.54% of the population belonging to the schedule tribes and more than 66 % of total population comprises SCs and STs. The total area of the district is 3,622.50 Sq. Km. The important places to visit in the district are Netarhat- “Queen of Chotanagpur”, Betla National Park. Netarhat has several places of tourist interests including Magnolia Point, Upper Ghaghri Falls, Lower Ghaghri Falls, Koel View Point, Lodh Falls, Sadni Falls.

District at a Glance

  • District
  • Headquarters
  • State
Area in Sq Km (Census 2011)
  • Total
  • Rural
  • Urban
Population (Census 2011)
  • Population
  • Rural
  • Urban
  • Male
  • Female
  • Sex Ratio (Females per 1000 males)
  • Density (Total, Persons per sq km)
Constituencies (ECI)
  • Assembly
  • Loksabha

Brought to you by National Informatics Centre | Page Last updated : July 04 2017