Search Districts Within

West Singhbhum District : Jharkhand

About District

The West Singhbhum district forms the Southern part of the Jharkhand State and is the largest district in the State. The district spread over 210 58' and 230 36' north latitude and 850 0' & 860 54' East Longitude. The district is situated at a height of 244 Meter above the sea level and has an area of 5351.41 Sq. km. The district is bounded on the North by the district of Khunti , on the East by Saraikela-Kharsawan district, on the South by Keonjhar, Mayurbhanj and Sundargarh districts of Orissa and on the West by the district of Simdega and Sundargarh. The West Singhbhum District with Chaibasa as its district headquarter, has been divided into 3 Sub-Divisions, 18 Community Development Blocks, 15 Revenue Anchals, 216 Gram Panchayats. There are 1792 Revenue Villages in the District. The district is full of hills alternating with valleys, steep mountains and deep forests on the mountain slopes. The district contains one of the best Sal forests and the SARANDA (seven hundred hills) forest area is known world over. The places of tourist interest in the district are Bidri, Chainpur, Hirni, Jagannathpur, Jojohatu, Kera, Kotgarh, Lupungutu, Mahadebsal, Ponga , Porahat, Ramtirtha, Tholkobad, Tholkobad.

District Administration

District at a Glance

  • District
  • Headquarters
  • State
Area in Sq Km (Census 2011)
  • Total
  • Rural
  • Urban
Population (Census 2011)
  • Population
  • Rural
  • Urban
  • Male
  • Female
  • Sex Ratio (Females per 1000 males)
  • Density (Total, Persons per sq km)
Constituencies (ECI)
  • Assembly
  • Loksabha

Brought to you by National Informatics Centre | Page Last updated : July 04 2017