Search Districts Within

Lohardaga District : Jharkhand

About District

Lohardaga district came into existence after Ranchi was split into three districts namely Ranchi, Lohardaga and Gumla way back in 1983. The district is named after the town of Lohardaga, the administrative headquarters of the district. The district is situated in the south western part of Jharkhand State between 23°30' and 23°40' north latitudes and 84°40' and 84°50' east longitudes. The district covers an area of 1491 sq. km. in the tribal belt of Chotanagpur plateau. It has Seven blocks: Lohardaga, Kuru, Bhandra,Kairo, Kisko, Peshrar and Senha which contains 354 villages spread over in 66 Gram Panchayats. According to the 2011 census, Lohardaga district has a population of 461,738. The most important mineral of the district is bauxite. Other minerals which are found in the district are feldspar, fire clay and china clay and have less economic importance. The major part of the district is covered with Golden Alluvium, Red and Sandy and Red and Gravelly soils. The most important places to visit in the district are Keepr temple,Ajay Uddyan,Lord Korambe Mahamaya Temple, Akhileswar Dham, Kekrang Falls, Lawapani Falls, Nindi Falls, Serengdag plateau, Dhardharia Falls, Nandini reservoir, Shwyambhu temple.

District at a Glance

  • District
  • Headquarters
  • State
Area in Sq Km (Census 2011)
  • Total
  • Rural
  • Urban
Population (Census 2011)
  • Population
  • Rural
  • Urban
  • Male
  • Female
  • Sex Ratio (Females per 1000 males)
  • Density (Total, Persons per sq km)
Constituencies (ECI)
  • Assembly
  • Loksabha

Brought to you by National Informatics Centre | Page Last updated : July 04 2017