Search Districts Within

Una District : Himachal Pradesh

About District

On the 1st September,1972 the Himachal Pradesh Government reorganised the then Kangra district into three districts namely Una, Hamirpur and Kangra. Situated in the east of outer Shivaliks, Una is in the south-western part of Himachal Pradesh.Bounded by Kangra, Hamirpur and Bilaspur district of Himachal Pradesh in the North, East and South respectively and by Hoshiarpur district of Punjab in the West. The total Geographical Area of the district is 1540 Sq.Kms. As per 2011 Census, the total population of the district is 5,21,173 out of which 2,63,692 are males and 2,57,481 are females.Administratively, the district is divided into 4 Sub-Divisions viz. Una, Amb, Haroli & Bangana, 5 Tehsils viz. Una, Amb, Bangana, Haroli and Ghanari, 5 Sub-Tehsils viz. Bharwain, Ispur, Jol, Dulehar and Bihrukalan, 5 Development Blocks viz. Una, Amb, Gagret, Dhundla(Bangana) and Haroli.The famous places of Una district are ‘Chintpurni’ Goddess temple, Dera Baba Barbhag Singh, Dera Baba Rudru, Joggi Panga, Dharamshala Mahanta, Dhunsar Mahadev Temple Talmehra, Shivbari Temple Gagret and Mini Secretariat. Una district is well developed in the industrial sector due to close proximity to Punjab. Mehatpur, Gagret, Tahliwal & Amb are main industrial centres of Una.


District at a Glance

Area in Sq Km (Census 2011)
  • Total
  • Rural
  • Urban
Population (Census 2011)
  • Population
  • Rural
  • Urban
  • Male
  • Female
  • Sex Ratio (Females per 1000 males)
  • Density (Total, Persons per sq km)
Constituencies (ECI)
  • Assembly
  • Loksabha

Brought to you by National Informatics Centre | Page Last updated : July 04 2017