Search Districts Within

Solan District : Himachal Pradesh

About District

Solan District came into existence at the time of the reorganisation of the districts of the State on Ist September, 1972. The District was carved out of Solan and Arki tehsils of the then Mahasu district and tehsils of Kandaghat and Nalagarh of the then Shimla District. The total geographical area of the district is 1,936 sq. km. The District is bounded by Shimla district in the North and by Ropar District of Punjab and Ambala district of Harayana in the south, by Sirmaur District in the east and by Bilaspur district in the west. The district is located between the longitudes 76.42 and 77.20 degree and latitudes 30.05 and 31.15 degree north. As per Census 2011, the total population of the district is 5,80,320 out of which 3,08,754 are males and 2,71,566 are females. Administratively, the district is divided into 4 Sub-Divisions viz. Arki, Kandaghat, Nalagarh & Solan, 5 Development Blocks viz. Dharampur, Kandaghat, Kunihar, Nalagarh, & Solan and 6 Tehsils viz. Arki, Baddi, Kandaghat, Kasauli, Nalagarh & Solan. The various tourist attractions in the district are Barog, Kasauli, Chail, Sholoni Devi Temple, Bon Monastery, Parwanoo, Kiarighat, Darlaghat, Karol Tibba, Hart, Arki Fort, Nalagarh Fort and Jatoli Shiv Temple.


District at a Glance

Area in Sq Km (Census 2011)
  • Total
  • Rural
  • Urban
Population (Census 2011)
  • Population
  • Rural
  • Urban
  • Male
  • Female
  • Sex Ratio (Females per 1000 males)
  • Density (Total, Persons per sq km)
Constituencies (ECI)
  • Assembly
  • Loksabha

Brought to you by National Informatics Centre | Page Last updated : July 04 2017