Search Districts Within

Shimla District : Himachal Pradesh

About District

The former summer capital of the British in India, and the present capital of Himachal Pradesh, Shimla has been blessed with all the natural bounties which one can think of. It has got a scenic location, it is surrounded by green hills with snow capped peaks. The spectacular cool hills accompanied by the structures made during the colonial era creates an aura which is very different from other hill. Shimla District lies between the longitude 77o-0" and 78o-19" east and latitude 30o-45" and 31o-44" north. It is bounded by Mandi and Kullu in the north, Kinnaur in the east, the state of Uttaranchal in the south, Sirmaur, district in the west. The total Geographical Area of the district is 5131 As per Census 2011, the total population of the district is 8,14,0,10 out of which 4,25,0,39 are males and 3,88,9,71 are females. The Shimla District comprises of 7 Sub-Divisions, 12 Tehsils and 10 Development Blocks. The places of tourist interests in the districts are Christ Church & St. Michael's Cathedral, Jakhu Temple , Sankat Mochan, Tara Devi , Kali Bari, Himachal State Museum & Library, Viceregal Lodge & Botanical Gardens, Annandale and Elysium Hill.


District at a Glance

Area in Sq Km (Census 2011)
  • Total
  • Rural
  • Urban
Population (Census 2011)
  • Population
  • Rural
  • Urban
  • Male
  • Female
  • Sex Ratio (Females per 1000 males)
  • Density (Total, Persons per sq km)
Constituencies (ECI)
  • Assembly
  • Loksabha

Brought to you by National Informatics Centre | Page Last updated : July 04 2017