Search Districts Within

North Goa District : Goa

About District

North Goa is known and loved as a land of golden beaches, palm trees, paddy fields and wooded hills. Its churches, temples, shrines and forts tell its history. The North Goa district has an area of 1736 Sq. Km. Its geographical position is marked by 15o 48’ 00” N to 14o 53’ 54” N latitudes and 73o E to 75o E longitudes. The headquarters of the district is at Panaji. North Goa shares its boundaries with the Sawantwadi & Dodamarg, of Ratnagiri District and Kolhapur District of Maharastra state and with South Goa District shares the southern boundary. In order to facilitate revenue adminstration, the entire geographical area of North Goa is sub-divided into six talukas and four sub-divisions. The Talukas are further subdivided into revenue circles and circles into revenue sazas. These sazas consist of compact revenue villages. The important places to visit in the district are Panaji, Mapusa, Pilar, Margao, Arambol Beach, Vagator, Anjuna, Calangute, Old Goa, Basilica of Bom Jesus, Se Cathedral, Church of St. Francis of Assissi, Shree Bhagavati temple, Shri Brahma Temple, and Shree Chandranath etc.

District Administration

District at a Glance

  • District
  • Headquarters
  • State
Area in Sq Km (Census 2011)
  • Total
  • Rural
  • Urban
Population (Census 2011)
  • Population
  • Rural
  • Urban
  • Male
  • Female
  • Sex Ratio (Females per 1000 males)
  • Density (Total, Persons per sq km)
Constituencies (ECI)
  • Assembly
  • Loksabha

Brought to you by National Informatics Centre | Page Last updated : July 04 2017