Search Districts Within

Kamrup Metropolitan District : Assam

About District

Kamrup MetroPolitan District is the capital district of Assam. It comprises of only one sub- divisions namely, Guwahati sadar sub-division.The district Kamrup Metro was created bifurcating the old Kamrup district in 3 rd February'2003. The head quarter of the district is Guwahati. Once known as Pragjyotishpur (the light of the East), Guwahati derives its name from the Assamese words “Guwa” means areca nut and “Haat” means market. Guwahati has a magical aura that still lingers over the ever – expanding city. Guwahati today is important because it is the seat of power in Assam, is a major commercial centre and is the node that connects six other North Eastern Indian States of Arunachal Pradesh, Nagaland, Manipur, Mizoram, Meghalaya and Tripura. The Geographic Area of the District is 127.84 Sq. Km. and the total population(As per 2001 Census) of the District is 10,62,771.

District Administration


District at a Glance

  • District
  • Headquarters
  • State
Area in Sq Km (Census 2011)
  • Total
  • Rural
  • Urban
Population (Census 2011)
  • Population
  • Rural
  • Urban
  • Male
  • Female
  • Sex Ratio (Females per 1000 males)
  • Density (Total, Persons per sq km)
Constituencies (ECI)
  • Assembly
  • Loksabha

Brought to you by National Informatics Centre | Page Last updated : July 04 2017