Search Districts Within

Sonitpur District : Assam

About District

Sonitpur is one of the 27 districts of Assam with head quarter at Tezpur. It comprises of three Sub- divisions, seven Revenue Circles , twenty five Mouzas , fourteen Development Blocks and eleven Police Stations. The district spreads over an area of 5324 sq. kms. on north bank of Brahmaputra river. The District lies between 26° 30’N and 27° 01’N latitude and between 92° 16’E and 93° 43’E longitude. The district is bounded on east by Lakhimpur District, Darrang District on west, The state of Arunachal Pradesh on north and Morigaon, Nagaon, Jorhat and Golaghat districts on south. In terms of area Sonitpur is the second largest district of Assam after Karbi Anglong district. The population of Sonitpur district is 16,77,874 as per 2001 Census. In terms of population it ranks third in Assam after Kamrup and Nagaon districts. The places of tourist interest in the district are Chitralekha Udyan (Cole Park), Agnigarh, Padum Pukhuri, District Museum at Dak Bungalow, Ouguri hill, Trimurty Udyan, The Hazara Pukhuri, Bamuni Hills, Da Parbatia, Haleswar, Bhairabi Devalaya, Rudrapada Temple, and Bhomoraguri.


District at a Glance

  • District
  • Headquarters
  • State
Area in Sq Km (Census 2011)
  • Total
  • Rural
  • Urban
Population (Census 2011)
  • Population
  • Rural
  • Urban
  • Male
  • Female
  • Sex Ratio (Females per 1000 males)
  • Density (Total, Persons per sq km)
Constituencies (ECI)
  • Assembly
  • Loksabha

Brought to you by National Informatics Centre | Page Last updated : July 04 2017