Search Districts Within

Nagaon District : Assam

About District

On the north, Nagaon is bounded by Sonitpur district & the Brahmaputra, towards its south lies West Karbi Anglong and North Cachar Hills, towards its east lies the districts of East Karbi Anglong and Golaghat. The area of the district spans 3993 Sq. Km. making it one of the largest districts of Assam. The district extends between 25° 45' to 26° 45' North Latitudes. The major river is the Kalong which divides the town into two halves - Haibargaon and Nagaon. Haibargaon slopes down towards the west and then to the south west towards the Sonai. Nagaon slopes down first towards the south east and then southwards to the beels and then towards Kalong. The district is divided into 3 Sub Divisions, 10 Revenue Circles, 1396 Revenue Villages and 18 Development Blocks. The Places of Tourist interest in the district are Kaziranga National Park, Bordowa, Pokhi Tirtha (Samaguri Bill), Lowkhowa, Ranthali, Raha, Doboka, and Lumding.

District at a Glance

  • District
  • Headquarters
  • State
Area in Sq Km (Census 2011)
  • Total
  • Rural
  • Urban
Population (Census 2011)
  • Population
  • Rural
  • Urban
  • Male
  • Female
  • Sex Ratio (Females per 1000 males)
  • Density (Total, Persons per sq km)
Constituencies (ECI)
  • Assembly
  • Loksabha

Brought to you by National Informatics Centre | Page Last updated : July 04 2017