Search Districts Within

Morigaon District : Assam

About District

Marigaon became a fully-fledged district on 29 September 1989, when it was split from Nagaon district. The district covers an area of 1450.02 Sq. Kms. The district is bounded by the mighty Brahmaputra on the North, Karbi Anglong district on the South, Nagaon District on the East and Kamrup District on the West. The mighty Brahmaputra flows along with the northern boundary of the district. Killing, Kollong and Kapili rivers flow through the southern part of of the district. There are three Reserved Forest constituted under Assam Forest Regulation Act, 1891. In the north the district is bounded by the blue ranges of the outer Himalayas, behind which snowy peaks glisten brightly in the sun, while to the west and the south of the district lie range upon range of lower hills, whose sides are covered with luxuriant vegetation of the tropical forest. These are Sunaikuchi, Khulahat, and Bura Mayong. There is also one wildlife Sanctuary, named Pabitara, which is famous for the Indian one horned Rhinoceros. The important places in the distrcit to visit are Pobitora Wildlife Sanctuary, Kachasila, Deosal, Sitajakhala, and Sivakunda.

District Administration

District at a Glance

  • District
  • Headquarters
  • State
Area in Sq Km (Census 2011)
  • Total
  • Rural
  • Urban
Population (Census 2011)
  • Population
  • Rural
  • Urban
  • Male
  • Female
  • Sex Ratio (Females per 1000 males)
  • Density (Total, Persons per sq km)
Constituencies (ECI)
  • Assembly
  • Loksabha

Brought to you by National Informatics Centre | Page Last updated : July 04 2017