Search Districts Within

Kamrup District : Assam

About District

Kamrup district consists of wide plains through which the mighty river Brahmaputra makes its way flowing a steady course from east to west. The demographic pattern of Kamrup District is a heterogenous one. The District is bounded by Udalguri and Baska District in North, Meghalaya state in South, Darrang District and Kamrup Metropolitan District in East and Goalpara District and Nalbari District in West. Kamrup District comprises two sub- divisions namely, Guwahati and Rangia. Below this level, there are 8 Revenue Circles under Guwahati sub-division and 3 Revenue Circles under Rangia sub-division. Furthermore, from developmental angle, the district is divided into 15 Development Blocks. Below the block level set-up, there are 162 Gaon Panchayats, each comprising of a number of villages and governed by local-self bodies. The Madan Kamdev Temple, Saraighat War Memorial Park, Hayagriva-Madhab Mandir, Poa Macca, Aswaklanta Temple, Chanda's Merghar at Chaygaon, Chanddubi, Daul Govidha Mandir, Sidheswar Devalaya and Dirgheswari Temple are some of the interesting places to visit in the District.

District Administration

District at a Glance

  • District
  • Headquarters
  • State
Area in Sq Km (Census 2011)
  • Total
  • Rural
  • Urban
Population (Census 2011)
  • Population
  • Rural
  • Urban
  • Male
  • Female
  • Sex Ratio (Females per 1000 males)
  • Density (Total, Persons per sq km)
Constituencies (ECI)
  • Assembly
  • Loksabha

Brought to you by National Informatics Centre | Page Last updated : July 04 2017