Search Districts Within

Dibrugarh District : Assam

About District

The district of Dibrugarh with only one sub-division is situated in the eastern part of Assam. The district is surrounded by Dhemaji district and a part of Lakhimpur district in the north, part of Sivasagar district and Arunachal Pradesh in the south, Tinsukia district in the East and Sivasagar dist in the West. The district occupies an area of 3381 Sq Km. The Dibrugarh district is a plain district of Assam. The entire is flat with gradual slop from the East Arunachal hills to the West. The soil of the district is mostly fertile Alluvial soil and this adjorning with the river Brahmaputra are composed sand and clay in varying proportion. Dibrugarh town is the district headquarter, situated on the southern bank of the Brahamaputra. The N.H.-37 is the major road running through the district. Oil and Tea are the major industries of the district. The headquarter of the Oil India Ltd. is located at Duliajan, at a distance of about 50 KM from Dibrugarh town. The Fertiliser Corporation of India and Assam Petro-Chemicals Ltd. At Namrup and the Assam Gas Co. at Duliajan, NEEPCO near Duliajan are some of the other major industries in the district.


District at a Glance

  • District
  • Headquarters
  • State
Area in Sq Km (Census 2011)
  • Total
  • Rural
  • Urban
Population (Census 2011)
  • Population
  • Rural
  • Urban
  • Male
  • Female
  • Sex Ratio (Females per 1000 males)
  • Density (Total, Persons per sq km)
Constituencies (ECI)
  • Assembly
  • Loksabha

Brought to you by National Informatics Centre | Page Last updated : July 04 2017