Search Districts Within

Dibang Valley District : Arunachal Pradesh

About District

Dibang Valley District came into existence on 1st June'1980 with its headquarter at Anini. Dibang Valley is bounded by Lohit in the south-east,Lower Dibang Valley in the South, East Siang in the West and by China in the North and North-East.It has an area of 9129 sqkms with a population of 7105 as per census 2001. Dibang Valley consists of undulated-rugged mountains with breath-taking green valleys, deep-down gorges, enchanting waterfalls, natural lakes of various dimensions and innumerable meandering rivers and turbulent streams. Dibang valley district is the land of the Idu Mishmis and Goddess Intaya, encompasses an area of 9129 bound by International border in the North-West, North and East with Tibet and China. Dibang Valley has a temperate climate with lush-green mountains, heavy rainfall, dashing rivers, sparkling waterfalls, chirping birds, loitering wild animals and isolated Idu hamlets inhabited by people dressed in colorful costumes, singing, dancing and hunting but closely bound by centuries old customs, traditions and values. Administratively the district is divided into one Sub-division, three CD blocks and five circles. The Areas like Mipi, Alinye(A.L.G.) Anrimvalley, Acheso, Dambuen, Mihundo etc are potential tourist spots in the District.

District Administration

District at a Glance

Area in Sq Km (Census 2011)
  • Total
  • Rural
  • Urban
Population (Census 2011)
  • Population
  • Rural
  • Urban
  • Male
  • Female
  • Sex Ratio (Females per 1000 males)
  • Density (Total, Persons per sq km)
Constituencies (ECI)
  • Assembly
  • Loksabha

Brought to you by National Informatics Centre | Page Last updated : July 04 2017