Search Districts Within

South Andaman District : Andaman and Nicobar Island (UT)

About District

South Andaman is one of the three districts of Andaman Nicobar Islands located in the Bay of Bengal Region. The Total Area of the District is 2980 Sq.Km. There are four primitive tribes in the South Andamans District and they have been recognised as belonging to the Negrito stock,namely Onges,Jarawas,Great Andamanese and sentinalese. The District of South Andaman has three tehsils namely "Port Blair"," Ferrargunj","Little Andaman".The District of South Andaman consists of three tehsils namely PortBlair, Ferrargunj and Little Andaman.Each Tehsil is divided into villages. Port Blair Tehsil having 41 villages, Ferrargunj tehsils having 53 villages and little andaman tehsil have 5 villages. Each tehsil is administratively functions under Tehsildars is assisted with Revenue Inspectors, patwaries and other staffs to maintain the office activities. The information Regarding the number of Revenue Inspectors, Patwaries, Population in the district and as well as the Tehsils and villages, Education details and hospital can be obtained by clicking on the above links. The District Administration is envisaging to provide Sensitive, Moral, Accountable, Responsive and Transparent Governance thereby reducing delay and providing better services to the citizens of the district by adopting simplified procedures and ways for efficient monitoring through Information technology

District Administration

District at a Glance

Area in Sq Km (Census 2011)
  • Total
  • Rural
  • Urban
Population (Census 2011)
  • Population
  • Rural
  • Urban
  • Male
  • Female
  • Sex Ratio (Females per 1000 males)
  • Density (Total, Persons per sq km)
Constituencies (ECI)
  • Assembly
  • Loksabha

Brought to you by National Informatics Centre | Page Last updated : July 04 2017