Search Districts Within

Nicobar District : Andaman and Nicobar Island (UT)

About District

The Nicobar Islands are situated in the South-east of the Bay of Bengal. There are altogether 22 large and small islands, out of which only twelve have inhabitants. The most northerly island of the group is Car Nicobar, which is 143 miles from Port Blair. The District is having a population of 42,068 (2001). Out of this population, around 70% belong to tribal category. The District consists of 2 tribes namely – Nicobari and Shompen. Nicobari constitutes the larger part and they reside in all the inhabitant Islands of the District. Shompen is Semi – Nomadic tribe, and reside only in certain pockets of Great Nicobar Island. District of Nicobar came into existence on 1st of August , 1974. Before this, it was a part of District of Andamans. It is headed by Deputy Commissioner stationed at Car Nicobar. The District is having 3 sub-divisions viz. Car Nicobar, Nancowry and Great Nicobar. The second sub-division has jurisdiction over all islands of the district except Car Nicobar. However, for smooth functioning of the administration, it is divided into three circles under the supervision and control of Assistant Commissioners who work directly under Deputy Commissioner.

District Administration

District at a Glance

Area in Sq Km (Census 2011)
  • Total
  • Rural
  • Urban
Population (Census 2011)
  • Population
  • Rural
  • Urban
  • Male
  • Female
  • Sex Ratio (Females per 1000 males)
  • Density (Total, Persons per sq km)
Constituencies (ECI)
  • Assembly
  • Loksabha

Brought to you by National Informatics Centre | Page Last updated : July 04 2017