Search Districts Within

North and Middle Andaman District : Andaman and Nicobar Island (UT)

About District

The District of North and Middle Andaman was created during August 2006 and has its jurisdiction from Baratang to Diglipur. The total area of the District is 3483 Sq.Kms and its population is 105539 as per Census 2011. It has 2 Sub-Divisions namely Diglipur and Mayabunder comprising of 3 Tehsils. There are 104 Revenue Villages. The Deputy Commissioner is the Revenue Head of the District and is vested with powers of District Magistrate. The Deputy Commissioner supervises all activities of the District Administration and centrally sponsored programs being implemented in the District. The Deputy Commissioner is assisted by three Assistant Commissioners, namely Assistant Commissioner (Diglipur), Assistant Commissioner (Middle Andaman) and Assistant Commissioner(HQ). The Assistant Commissioners are vested with the powers of Executive Magistrate and assist the Deputy Commissioner in all schemes of the District. District Administration also coordinates all the activities of different departments of the district and supervises their functioning. There is one Tehsildar & Two Deputy Tehsildars in the District. District Administration is wholly responsible for the formulation of District Disaster Management Plan and Relief & Rehabilitation in case of any disaster in the District as envisaged under Disaster Management Act 2005 and Rules framed there under.

District at a Glance

Area in Sq Km (Census 2011)
  • Total
  • Rural
  • Urban
Population (Census 2011)
  • Population
  • Rural
  • Urban
  • Male
  • Female
  • Sex Ratio (Females per 1000 males)
  • Density (Total, Persons per sq km)
Constituencies (ECI)
  • Assembly
  • Loksabha

Brought to you by National Informatics Centre | Page Last updated : July 04 2017